Pro Kabaddi League Winners & Runners List

On December 22, 12 teams will compete in the Pro Kabaddi League’s (PKL) ninth season. Due to the COVID-19 epidemic, the whole eighth season of PKL will be staged at a single location (Sheraton Grand Bengaluru Whitefield Hotel and Convention Centre) without spectators. Here is a timeline of every PKL season.

Pro Kabaddi 2022

PKL Season 8 winner: Dabang Delhi K.C.

Dabang Delhi K.C. won the PKL championship for the first time in Season 8 when they defeated Patna Pirates 37-36 to become the sixth team to do it in the league’s history. Both the two-time MVP Naveen Kumar and the outstanding all-arounder Vijay scored Super 10s in the championship match against the Patna Pirates’ Mohammadreza Chiyaneh-led defense.

Naveen Kumar won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award for the second year in a row with 207 raid points in 17 games. Manjeet Chhillar, a seasoned all-around player, finished the season as the team’s most productive defender with 52 tackle points.

In the Season 8 final, Dabang Delhi K.C. defeated the three-time champions by just 1 point to win by the narrowest margin in a PKL final.

PKL Season 7 winner: Bengal Warriors

The Bengal Warriors worked as a team to win the PKL championship for the first time in Season 7.

Bengal Warriors and Dabang Delhi K.C., two of the top teams during the season, competed in the PKL Season 7 championship match. Maninder Singh, the team’s captain and top raider (205 points), missed the championship game owing to an injury.

Bengal Warriors never seemed out of the game while playing against Naveen Kumar, the season’s MVP. The Bengal Warriors defeated Dabang Delhi K.C. 39-34 in the championship game thanks to a game-winning Super 10 from Mohammad Esmaeil Nabibakhsh, who took up the burden of the team.

PKL Season 6 winner: Bengaluru Bulls

Bengaluru Bulls, captained by Rohit Kumar, won the PKL championship in Season 6 with Pawan Sehrawat, who was awarded MVP and finished with 282 points.

Bengaluru Bulls and Gujarat Fortunegiants fought hard for first place in the final. The game was ultimately won because of Pawan Sehrawat’s outstanding effort. The Bengaluru Bulls defeated Gujarat Giants 38-33 to win their first PKL championship behind 22 points from Pawan.

PKL Season 5 winner: Patna Pirates

Pro Kabaddi welcomed four new teams in Season 5, but Patna Pirates went on to win a hat-trick of championships. Pardeep Narwal, the captain of the Patna Pirates, set numerous records during the season and created the renowned 8-point raid against the Haryana Steelers.

The most amount of points scored by a team in a single season was 1,050, which was achieved by Patna Pirates in PKL Season 5.

In the Pro Kabaddi Season 5 championship game, Patna Pirates defeated Gujarat Giants 55-38 in a lopsided contest. On the strength of some astounding figures, Pardeep Narwal was named the season’s MVP. He had the most raid points (369), the most super raids (18), and the most super 10s (19).

PKL Season 4 winner: Patna Pirates

Despite Rohit Kumar leaving for Bengaluru Bulls in PKL Season 4, Pardeep Narwal led Patna Pirates to another championship.

With 10 victories in 14 games, Patna Pirates finished first in the league. Iranian star Fazel Atrachali led Patna’s defense with 45 tackle points, while Pardeep Narwal led the raids with 133 points.

In the final, Patna Pirates played Jaipur Pink Panthers. With a final score of 37-29 and 16 points from Pardeep Narwal, Patna Pirates won their second consecutive PKL championship. Thus, Patna Pirates became the first group to double up on the PKL crown.

PKL Season 3 winner: Patna Pirates

In PKL Season 3, Patna Pirates won their first Pro Kabaddi championship. Pardeep Narwal of the Patna Pirates, who had a brief stint with the Bengaluru Bulls in Season 2, rose to the situation and finished with the most raid points (116) in Season 3.

Sandeep Narwal finished the season with the second-most tackle points (53) while Rohit Kumar was crowned the Patna Pirates’ MVP.

Rohit Kumar scored 7 points in the championship game as Patna Pirates upset U Mumba, the previous PKL winners, 31–28.

PKL Season 2 winner: U Mumba

U Mumba, who finished second in the inaugural PKL season, dominated the league in the following year because of an improved defense.

In 12 of their 14 league games, U Mumba came out on top. They had the greatest average tackles points per game and the most tackle points (196) at the end of the season (12.25).

In the Season 2 finale, U Mumba played the Bengaluru Bulls. Shabeer Bappu’s Super Raid gave U Mumba the victory 36-30 just as the game was about to reach a close conclusion in the second half.

PKL Season 1 winner: Jaipur Pink Panthers

The Jaipur Pink Panthers won the inaugural Pro Kabaddi championship in 2014. Jaipur Pink Panthers were the most reliable team in PKL Season 1 despite losing the league’s opening game. They won 10 of their 14 league games.

Maninder Singh, their primary raider, had a fantastic season, amassing 137 points and finishing third overall in the points standings, just behind U Mumba’s Anup Kumar (169) and Telugu Titans’ Rahul Chaudhari (161).

Additionally, Maninder scored a Super 10 in the championship game against U Mumba, helping Jaipur Pink Panthers defeat U Mumba 35-24 and win the inaugural PKL championship.

PKL Season 1Jaipur Pink Panthers
PKL Season 2U Mumba
PKL Season 3Patna Pirates
PKL Season 4Patna Pirates
PKL Season 5Patna Pirates
PKL Season 6Bengaluru Bulls
PKL Season 7 Bengal Warriors
PKL Season 8Dabang Delhi K.C.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *